The beginning of Photoshop.

In my first workshop lesson, I was given the opportunity in editing some photographs using Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Bridge and Camera Raw. From this seminar (taught by Kyle who is a graduate of the course) I learnt how to edit the colours of some photographs given to me by Kyle. This was done using the Camera Raw and Photoshop software on the iMac.

The Adobe Bridge application enabled me to to view my photographs like a directory system found in the Finder of a OS X machine. This application was fairly useful and contained a lot more useful information compared to the Finder, for example, the file size and type of a photograph. This application made navigation time quicker too. Below, is a screen shot of the application running on my iMac.

screenshot1

Using this application I was able to navigate quickly and upon double clicking on one of my photographs Camera Raw opened on the dock of the iMac. This application was used to edit many things to do with the colours of a particular photograph; for example, I could change the saturation levels of an element, the hue, and even the amount of single colour into the photograph.  Below is two screen shots of how the software can change the colour properties of a photograph.

Before:

1of2

After:

2of2

Once I had edit the photographs in Camera Raw, I then opened them in Adobe Photoshop. Using the mask property (developing a virtual frame for an image to fit into) in Photoshop I made my photographs mask into a square shape so they could all arrange into the same size. I am new to Photoshop so this was very exciting for me to learn. Below is a screenshot of how I used a grey square shape to mask some photographs given to me by Kyle.

Screen Shot 2014-09-30 at 11.25.42

The outcome from this seminar is that I have learnt how to use the directory system of Adobe Bridge compared to the built in Finder found on a OS X machine. I have learnt how to adjust the colours of a photograph using Camera Raw. And I have also learned to mask photographs into specific shapes that can be created using the tools provided in Photoshop.

In overall conclusion I found the masking method in Photoshop to be quite painful as it does require a lot of step to complete such a simple task; I found that there were many buttons and controls I needed to learn in order to complete the masking method.

Leave a Reply

