Task 2 – Temporal Expressions

From my last seminar with Mik Parsons me and my fellow student members were given the task of taking photographs with temporal expressions. Using the concept of Photography I have reflected the task using subject of ‘space and time’ expression within art history.

My first task I wanted to explore was looking at some of the Art work David Hockney has created using a photo collage technique of blending many photos together to make one piece. For example, the photograph below is one of his most famous pieces using the photo collage technique. I found this technique very interesting as it showed the range of lighting displayed in each photograph within the final piece.hockney.pearblossom-highway

Below is my version of David Hockney’s version. This technique was very time consuming as I had to take many photographs within the same spot. What makes this piece interesting is that with each photograph the position is ever so slightly different. Using Photoshop I was then able to crop and place each photograph into one, empty canvas which would eventually create the final piece. Again, this was very time consuming but it was enjoyable to see the different effect of lighting and perspective. Below is my Joiner image:

joinerImageAfter creating the David Hockney-like photograph I then explored the concepts of using long exposures in my photography. Adjusting the shutter on my DSLR I was able to get some shots where anything which was moving in the photograph blurred with motion. Below are some photographs I took with my younger sibling on his bicycle. Using the adjusted shutter speeds on my DSLR, I made sure that I followed him at the same pace, making sure I focused on him and the bike. The outcome was brilliant as you can see the background in each photograph has blurred giving it that extra special effect with motion:

motionblurbackground

After exploring with the possibilities with long exposure photography I wanted experiment with light and how this has an effect on the photographs. So when the night drew upon Charminster I decided to go out in the local area and see what the light effects could achieve. To get such an effect on the photographs I adjusted the light sensitivity and adjusted how long the shutter would be exposed to light which varied in each photograph displayed below:

longExposureCars

After taking these photographs I then went into a dark area and using the iPhone’s bright LCD screen and torch I took some long exposure photographs. Again, with each one being displayed I changed the settings of the camera. As you can see, in one of them I actually changed the flash of the iPhone with a shutter effect which gave one of the photographs this dot-like effect:

longExposureLights

Below, I explored the possibilities of short exposure with the shutter. Although the photographs show the potential, I was disappointed with the outcome of these photographs as my DSLR did not pick up the movement with clarity:

shortExposure

Exploring into more depth on the concept of speed and time, I was told that photographers could change the way a camera could render a photograph as it was being taken by the shutter. If you have ever heard of slit scan then you would probably understand what it does. Slit Scan takes a photograph with the ability of shuttering line by line, horizontally. What you end up with is something unusual. Below are some photographs I took:

slitScan

Upon developing some simple, Slit Scan photographs I moved onto using short exposure methods on my DSLR. Using the short shutter speed settings I was able to capture some experiences that would not be possible in the normal settings. Below are some photographs I have produced using these settings:

Upon creating these fantastic short-exposure photographs, I then went onto to exploring the idea of a Cinema-graph photo. A cinema graph is where the photograph is a still image but there is one, small thing that moves on a cycle. It is essentially a GIF type animation but with more of a class. When doing this task, it was essential that I chose something that the beginning and the end were the same. I chose my mother,s garden flag. Upon recording the short clip in .mp4 format I then had to import into Photoshop and convert the frames into layers. Once this was done it was essential that I created another layer that would lay on top of all the other, moving like layers. This layer was static and was used to create the ‘still’ look of the photograph. Once this main layer was created it was important to then erase out the area where I wanted to show where the object (the England flag) was moving. When I rendered the animated GIF it showed the moving flag but everything else was static. Perfect for this objection:

cinemagraph

After I had created my first cinema graph I wanted to explore more into depth with concept of speed and time. After looking at some references on the task set my Mik Parsons I came across a speed advertisement that the New Zealand Transport Agency used for their motorists. It really does capture you imagination but it also captures your emotion too. Below is the video I am referring to:

 

If you have watched the video above you can clearly see the impact this advert has on the public. But on another level it uses the concepts of slow motion to capture a story between the cars crashing, sad I know but it really does capture the audiences attention.

Well after playing around on iPhone 6 I was able to capture something similar using the Hyper lapse™  application developed by the team at Instagram™. Using this speed-through-time app I was able to capture a journey back to my home town which was sped up with the development process of the application. I really liked the outcome as it gave a feel for a sense of speed, like I was chasing after the car in front. Below is the video I produced:

