Snow Particles Effect

In this workshop I was taught how to create a snowing effect on a moving photograph. I was taught how to use 3D space using the camera on the canvas of my project. To begin, I needed to import an image from Google that displayed an environment that had views of snow. I then created a new composition for the canvas and dragged the image onto it. From there, I was told insert a new layer ‘Camera’; this allows the developer to create scenes in a 3D space with appropriate viewing angles:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.17.30

I then clicked on the ‘Active Camera’ button just above the timeline of the application. From here I was able to change the current camera angle of my canvas:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.17.59

Below you can see that there is white space, this is because we are viewing the project from the top:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.12.30

In the screenshot below we can see that the timeline now consists of a new layer ‘Camera’. Within the camera layer I can now change the parameters of the element. So for example, position and rotation:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.18.59

After I had changed the timeline effects of the camera I was required to add a new ‘Null Object’ within the layer tab. This null object was used to link the camera transition with the photograph:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.22.26

In the Parent placement of the Camera position, I simply clicked and dragged the swirl button towards the Null object:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.23.04

Below we can see the small rectangle box; this is the null object:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.23.47

But as we move the position of the camera we can see than the photograph moves the opposite way to the Null object:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.24.58

I then went onto adding a solid Layer within the composition:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.34.07

Within the Solid White Layer I had just created I then added an effect to it known as the ‘CC Particle World’. This was added so I could create the particle system for the snow effect.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.34.37

Within the ‘CC Particle World’ properties i could change the Radius of X so that the particles would fall from a higher distance within the composition because at the moment the particles are coming from the middle of the viewing area of the video.

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.36.51

Below we can see that the particles are now falling from a higher distance because the X Radius has been altered:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.37.30

In the screenshot below I have changed the Longevity of the particles and changed the particle type to a Faded Sphere so the particles looked more like snow. The Birth Colour and Death Colour were also changed to white:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.38.36

I then changed the Birth Rate to 30 to make the snow fall slower: I also adjusted the Death Rate to a slight blue colour so it blended more with the background of the sky. After I was happy with my final outcome I simply added the composition to my Render Queue  and exported it to .mov so it could be played on multiple platform types:

Screen Shot 2014-11-13 at 13.41.12

Outcome:

Leave a Reply

