Infographics Task

In this new category I have created on my blog, I have been set a assignment by my course; I am going to be exploring how one can use graphic design to communicate visually to an audience. In this task I have been given I need to discuss my ideas and explore the possibilities of creating something that can send a message without the use of words essentially. Everyone who communicates verbally through speech or writing is using some form of language which others can understand. But some people may read language different to others with different ways of understanding. For example, some may read from right to left, bottom to top; this is a challenge from a designer’s view so it is important that the flow of a graphic is understandable on all levels of visual communication.

The task I have been given is to develop and produce an A2 poster that represents information gathered by data or knowledge which is intended to present complex information quickly and easily to the audience. This type of communication is data visualisation which is seen as an info-graph.

Although this task seems fairly straight forward I do need to consider some key aspects that may effect my design choice for the poster. Like stated above, not all people read left to right, so using a timeline would be good for the Westerners of the world but not so useful for some from the East. This poster needs to be understandable to all types of audiences, young, old, religions and so forth.

Through reading the brief on the set task I have decided to produce the A2 poster based on the data of ‘How does the water cycle work?’. To begin, I need to understand what this question means. A Water cycle is a process by which water circulates between the earth’s oceans, atmosphere and land, involving precipitation as rain, hail and snow, draining into the streams and rivers and return to the atmosphere by evaporation.

Below are some examples I found very interesting to do with the Water Cycle. All the images below have been found using Google’s search engine:

waterCycleExamples

To begin, I selected the 1st poster because it shows the water cycle in quite an obvious way; by using a bicycle to show how the water cycle works. This type of poster is easy to the eye with no use of text which is a bonus. Although the use of colour and position is effective, I do not like the way the artist has used space in the poster; it doesn’t feel equally positioned but that may be because the way it has been drawn to look like a bicycle.

The 2nd Poster was selected in one of my examples because its very abstract in the way it show how the water cycle works. I like the way the artist has used a particular theme to represent certain elements within the poster. For example, the clouds have a rectangular feel to them, the evaporation can be clearly seen just by using squiggly lines. The rain is represented just by using dotted lines. By using these types of methods to display elements within a poster seems appealing to me.

The 3rd Poster I found very amusing because it has elements within the middle; the use of space has been created around the edge and the solid elements are in the centre which drives my eyes to look towards there. I also like the way the artist has created the water cycle in a way the world is represented; the artist is using the space of the canvas equally as we can see. I also like the way the artist has used a cartoon like effect on the graphics of the poster; we can clearly see that the poster is two dimensional but the use of colour has created these effects to bring out certain features on the elements within the poster. For example, we can see that the cloud and trees like three dimensional due to the facts of layering the elements using different tones of white.

The 4th Poster is very simplistic in the terms of how the water cycle works. It shows that it can be portrayed without any use of text. This poster may be targeted towards a younger audience such as children, to help them understand how the water cycle works. The poster also does not hold too much visual presents to the eye, making it very easy to understand the cycle.

I chose the 5th Poster not because it has anything to do with the water cycle, but because the artist has created the elements in the poster graphics to look visually interesting; the artist has simply used flat colours to portray the elements. I like this form of art as it does not over-complicate the visuals of the canvas. This makes each element stand out better without the use of textures and 3D layers which can create other forms of depth.

The 6th poster below was chosen in my examples because it is very informative to the viewer; we can see that the poster includes a description of what is happening within the water cycle but also what the water cycle consists of using the pie charts. This poster, in my opinion is targeted towards the older audience who may have a better understanding in looking at visual data and brief paragraphs.

The 7th Poster, is very simple to the eye, it does not contain many elements but only the core processes which happen in the water cycle; I like it because of this, but also because it is different from your usual ‘image of mountains and oceans’. What I mean by this is that, the poster is representing the Water Cycle in a totally different manner without using such thing as landscape drawings to represent the cycle. Instead, it is represented like it’s being used like a recycle symbol, similar to he ones you find on recyclable materials such can soda cans and sandwich containers.

The 8th example is not a poster of the Water Cycle, but an advertisement using 3D animation. The product itself is from an advert used in organisation known as ‘British Gas’. The screenshot, is different in the way the viewer looks at a landscape, in this cade a small world. I like it, a lot, and this type of method could be used to create a water cycle .representation I could see this type of style to be used in my Water Cyle Infograph.

One of the main reasons why I chose the 9th poster is because the simplicity it portrays to the viewer. I like the way that most of the elements within are very simple and flat in the way they have been drawn. I must point out that the use of space in the poster is not even and gives it an ‘unfinished’ look to the eye. But I simply like it because it is very clear and clean in the way the artist has created the elements within the product.

