Water Cycle Graphical Element Research

Upon developing my info graph for the water cycle I need to gather some visual images that may help me put the jigsaw pieces together. So below, are some images I have found over the web that may help me get closer to the development of my A2 poster.

WATER

To begin on my visual research, I need to gather elements that represent things that may be found within a water cycle poster, so below are some examples of how the water may look on my poster. The 1st one was chosen because it shows water in a different way, the use of lines emphasises the water as if it holds energy. As we can see the water is clearly moving towards the right as the waves emphasise this. This may be useful in creating different forms of the water in the water cycle.

The 2nd type of visual representation of water looks more ‘splashy’ to the eye, what I mean by this is that the water looks more free than the previous one, with the use of small water drops to emphasise this. This type of water may be used if the water was to hit an object in the ocean such as rocks, or boats.

The 3rd examples is very casual to the eye as it looks very calm. This has been created by using a repetitive line of form in the waves.

The 4th example is good in portraying the depth of an ocean, as we can see there is more than one layer of waves. This might be good way in displaying a depth of field.

The 5th example looks to me as if there is another type of angry being used to portray the water, this may be used to emphasise the use of wind in water. I can justify this because the curls being used are rising from the water in the example, therefore this may be used to visually form the curls of the wind with the water particles in the air being traveled across using the wind.

The 6th example is very simple with no use of other tones of blue, this type of visual representation may be better for a younger audience who may find it easier to visually understand the important roles of simplicity.

The 7th example is particularly good at portraying the use of energy within the water; we can see this due to the curls in the water structure that may emphasises the use of waves that have been generated using wind.

The 8th example is very simplistic, but using the repeating method we can visually see that there is depth within each wave formation getting smaller.

water

HILLS & MOUNTAINS

In this post I have also gathered some images I found over the web that illustrate the visual of hills and mountains. I have used these sources to vary my thoughts on how I should display the hills and mountains in my A2 poster I am going to be creating this following month.

The 1st example is very abstract, with little use of free hand drawing. The use of the triangular shapes does emphasise the visual elements of a mountain (which does have a triangular shape) so this example could be used to draw the mountains in my poster. But, with this type of visual drawing, it would be vital that this type of ‘theme’ is consistent across all elements within my poster; this means other things such as the sun, water and clouds would have to have the type as well so everything has the same style of drawing.

The 2nd example is good in portraying the use of different tones of blue to emphasise depth in the picture. The example is very clean, with little detail but it is easy to see what the solid colours of portraying to the viewer.

The 3rd example displays hills on a level which could be familiar within a cartoon. As we can see, the artist has used solid colours, but also dark tones to represent shadow. This effect gives the hill a sense of light, and three dimensional visuals.

The 4th example is different in the way the elements on the hill are displayed; I like it because the sense of size is not correct. We can see that hills do not normally look that round, and that trees do not ‘bend’ like they do in this image. This might be a good example when displaying elements without scale or seriousness to the viewer. This example may be better for more the causal audience, or a younger one.

The 5th example in this picture displays the mountains in a different way than usual. By this I mean that that have no sense of ground but instead has a flow through them with no particular solidness. It’s like the scene is from another dimension, a dream like state. This would be very good in displaying a particular theme with the way the artists has drawn the mountains and the sky, but it may become a challenge with other elements such as the sun, and clouds.

The 6th example displays the hills and mountains in a simple, yet effective way; the artist has used no texture, but instead has used linear colours to give the hills and mountains a feel that looks three dimensional. It is also useful to see that some of the hills in this example carry rivers in them, so it would be good to reference these in the future if I do use rivers from the hills in my poster.

The 7th chosen example is very simple, with flat colours, but we can clearly see that the elements within the image are mountains. I like the way the artist  has drawn the mountains with a soft and friendly edge, something that might be good towards a younger audience.

In the 8th example we can see that the artist has used the light from the sun to show the different side of the mountains and trees. I like this a lot as it uses little colour to show the effect.

The 9th example, looks like something from a cartoon background. There is more detail in the image than the others, but it does give off a better sense of depth than the others.

hillsandmoutnains

SKY – Sun, Clouds, Wind, Evaporation, Snow, Rain and Hail

Below I have gathered some examples that hold visual representations of some elements that might be found in the sky of a water cycle poster.

Sun

The Sun, as we know can be difficult to draw with its simplicity, but that isn’t a bad thing. Below are some examples I have found on the web that give me a variety on how I might display the element in my poster.

The 1st example is brilliant in portraying the sun and it’s rays across the space of the sky. The use of oranges and yellows in a linear manner really do give off a warm feeling to the viewer of the image.

The 2nd example displays the Sun in an iconic way; there is only one colour in each example, but none are the same. I particularly like the centred one because it displays the Sun with (looks to be) little heat rays. Now I know the other examples in this particular image have heat rays, but the main reason why I find the entered one to be unique is that the artists has used triangles to display them- another shape that we can recognise.

The 3rd example is another effective way of displaying the sun and it’s ray. Although this is effective I can imagine the process in developing this type of graphic to be time consuming.

The 4th example is similar to the 1st one but the element of the sun cannot be seen as a solid shape because the graphic designer has portrayed it’s brightness at an effective level. Out of the four examples, I do like the 4th one the most.
sun

Clouds:

Through researching more into the elements of the Water Cycle I wanted to do a bit of research into how I may portray how the clouds may look on my A2 poster. Below, I have gathered some images I found interesting that illustrate the concept of the cloud.

The concepts of clouds can be very a challenge to draw. Below are some examples I like from the web.

The 1st example portrays the cloud in a big manner taking a lot of space in the sky. We can also see that cloud elements are seen as one big cloud instead of a single one compared to the other examples.

In the 2nd example we can clearly see that the artist has developed a certain theme to their illustration of clouds. Because there is a sense of style, in particular with the curls of the lines within the clouds, it gives one the idea of following a similar drawn theme.

The 3rd example is good at portraying the cloud element which may be seen similar to example 2. I do like the way the artist has used no solid outline around the element so when I begin to develop my poster I will test this out.

The 4th example is very abstract to the viewer’s eye but we can still see that these elements are clouds. I like the way the artist has used the methods of simplicity in their illustration. I can see this example being a great influence to my poster.

The 5th example, like the 4th one is very abstract and quite wild with the different shapes and lines being portrayed. Although the example is not clearly a cloud element, we can see by using the same methods of drawing we could develop the cloud elements from this type of drawing.

The 6th example is very similar to 2 and 3. But in this example, I do like the way the artist has used a grainy like effect within the colour of the cloud element. This, again could have a large influence on how the poster should be drawn using a specific theme.

cloud_grouped

Wind:

With my Water Cycle poster in mind, I would like to use the visual element of wind to represent the flow of the cycle. I feel it is better and more natural to use the visual elements of wind rather than using arrows to point the direction of the cycle.

The elements of wind can be tricky to draw because as we all know, we cannot see wind. From this though, I did manage to find some examples that portray the wind and it’s energy.

The 1st example is very abstract to the eye, but we can clearly see that this is some form of cloud or wind. Although this is a good start to my visual research for the wind, I do feel that this example combines the use of wind and the cloud in one element.

The 2nd example is again, like the first, very abstract and does clearly show some form of energy in the concept of the wind.

The 3rd example shows many different ways of displaying the elements of the wind which is good. This could be a good start on how I may portray this ‘invisible’ like energy.

The 4th example,l like the 1st, is similar in the way the artist has incorporated the wind and cloud. But what caught my attention was lines that come out of the cloud which obviously represents the wind artefacts.

The 5th example is abstract, but I do like the way it can be used to visualise the energy of the wind.

wind

Other Elements – Trees, Hills, Houses, Wind Turbines, Boats, Submarines

Trees:

Trees can be drawn in many different ways, because of this, I have gathered a lot of visual elements that may represent this.

To begin, the 1st example displays the elements of a tree in a very abstract manner with its line form and simple, but effective shapes. Although this is a good example, I do feel like the trees need to be filled with colour if I was to incorporate this type of drawing into my poster. It would also mean that the whole poster would have to follow this type of theme.

The 2nd example is very good in portraying the energy of the wind with the tree being dragged to one side and the leaves being scattered.

The 3rd example is good at portraying the tree element with it’s roots forming in the ground of the image. This can be good to help show how the water may be enclosed in the ground’s soil.

The 4th example is very vibrant with the colours on the trees. These shapes and lines have been used using solid colours but one can imagine it would take considerable time to develop these concepts.

The 6th example, which holds many different examples of how a tree may be illustrated portrays them using flat colours.

The 7th example, like the 6th, holds many different ways in how the trees may be illustrated.

In the 8th example, I am drawn to the eye on how the artist has illustrated the green circles on the tree to represent the visual elements of the great leaves. We can see that this type of drawing is very abstract, so if this type of illustration is to be bought forward, then the poster will have to be drawn similar throughout it.

The 9th example is also very abstract to the viewer’s eye with it’s solid shapes and form.

trees

Houses:

houses

