Water Cycle Process

In this post I have inserted the stages of my A2 poster to a finish product. With each poster being displayed on this post the viewer will see the difference between each one.

Version 1

As we can see below is my first A2 draft on the water cycle poster. I have used this flat style technique because I would like to make the poster as simple to the eye as possible without any confusion. I like the way that I have drawn the clouds as it is obvious to the eye and it makes sure that it isn’t photo realistic. From feedback, critiques could identify them as clouds right away. The mountains displayed in this A2 poster were obvious swell because they hold the same visual elements to a real one with their sharp peaks. Again the mountains, like the clouds, were drawn with abstract with a simplicity method to reduce the confusion of the elements. I do like the way I have drawn the sun, this is through the visual elements I have research in my recent posts, although it is a good start I do feel like there is room for improvement. This poster was just a starting point to how the visual elements may look in the final product.

3JPG

Version 2

In this second version of the poster I have adjusted and added a few visual elements; to begin, I have changed the way the land on the earth in two ways. Number one, I have added a snow/ice area at the opposite location of the earth where it will be colder due to the sun not being able to reach it with its warmth. The green land has also been reduced in size this was because I felt like it took too much space on the Earth and secondly, from the visuals of version 1, the evaporation visual element which is displayed was not possible with the land being in contact. I have also added some text to the poster for the viewer to understand what is happening in the poster. I have tried to make it clear the poster’s cycle works in a clockwise rotation with the arrows helping to display this. The mountains have also been adjusted as I felt that they were too abstract and simple in version 1. The title has also been adjusted with more text and there is now a simple but effective bar charts displaying what the water in the world is made up of. These bar charts have been referenced from a previous water cycle poster in my research.

4JPEGVersion 3

In this version, I have changed the way some of the elements from version 2. To begin, the title has been adjusted to look more graphical to the viewer; I have tried to make the title seem appealing with its flat colours and using the tones of blue to emphasise the subject of water. The evaporation visual element has been adjusted with a more complex version, I did this because I felt the previous one did not meet my standards on how I would visualise liquids changing to gasses. As we can see I have done this in the evaporation element by making the lines become more separated as it reaches closer to the sun. Talking of the sun, we can see that it has been scaled up in size and the position of the element has been put into the corner of the poster; this has been done because I felt like the space on the poster was not used at an equal level because there were more visual elements being displayed on the poster.

5JPEG

Version 4

After looking at my poster for a considerable amount of time I wasn’t happy that I had incorporated a lot of text to explain how the water cycle worked. It was a reminder and an important thing to know is that info graphs are known for their visual elements, not text. As we can see in this version of the poster, I have adjusted the way the sun looks with more rays in the foreground of the element, the sun has also been scaled back down in size and positioned relatively the same to the one displayed in version 2. I have also replayed the arrows symbols with simple lines that represent the elements of wind. This was a difficult task but from previous research posted in this category of my blog, I could incorporate it into my  work. In this version of the poster, I have also added some hills on the green land, as we can see the hills are very abstract and they hold a linear effect using two different colours of green. This was done to add the effect of the sun light hitting the surface of the hills. I have also added small shadows to each of the hills to emphasise the dimensions of the poster. From this poster alone, one can see that I have started to become more three dimensional with my elements. This is obvious with the lighting that I have used within the poster. Not only because of the hills with the shaders and shadows, but with other parts like the river connecting to the ocean, we can see that the river has a sense of depth with its darker blue outlines on the right hand side of the element.

In this poster I have also added another piece of land on the left hand side of the earth. This has been created because I felt like the space on the earth was not being used equally. The sense of three main lands made more sense too. With this new piece of land I have also added a lake because, again, this is part of the water cycle that we can observe in this poster. I added a little boat in the lake to make it more visually appealing to the viewer. We can see that there is a sense of three’s going on with the land, but also how the wind elements have been placed between each piece of land.

Again, the moutons have been adjusted to incorporate the sense of a three dimensional space. Although they have been adjusted I do not feel happy with the outcome so in the future I would like to make them feel more three dimensional and maybe changed the colours of them because I do not feel like the shades of brown are appropriate to them.

We can also see that there are now more clouds in this version of the poster, this has been done to show that this water cycle happens all the way round the visual element of the earth. For example, we can now see that the snow particles are possible in the water cycle near to the mountain range.

After I had gotten feedback from my tutor, Garret Lynch, I was told that my title of the poster felt too directed at a young audience. Personally, I did not feel happy with the graphical title either as it did not fit in with the theme I was creating in the poster. The outcome was that the tile was changed back to its original state as seen in version 2 with its appreciate text spacing and alignment.

I am very happy the way my water cycle poster is turning out to be, but there are elements that could be added into the free space available on the poster. For example, there is a lot of free space on the green land of the hills, the flat area of course.

6JPEG

Version 5

In the version below I have made a few adjustments within some elements that already exist. To begin we can see that the clouds now look more three dimensional with the lighting effects I have used. This was done because I felt the clouds felt too flat compared to the other elements in the poster such as the hills. This effect was done by simply adding a circle to each unique shape in the cloud and adding a linear effect going for a semi-solid white to a fully transparent white. Each cloud within this version have their own unique sun light positions towards the sun. We can also see that the element of the sun has been completely changed, this was due to an epiphany I had from staring at the poster for a long period of time. This happened because I felt like the sun did not match the style of my theme with its three dimensional-like elements. From this, we all know that the sun does not look like a solid shape with solid triangles being surrounded on the outline of the main elements. From visual research I did manage to come across some lens flare examples on google images that incorporate this idea of the sun’s light creating a sense of layers between a glass surface and itself. As we can see, I have incorporated this idea into my work, and from looking at the final product, I am very happy the way the new sun looks.

In this version I have also added some minor visual elements to use the space in the poster more effectively. For example, I have created some wind turbines in the poster so it makes it more clear that the wind must travel in the direction of these elements. Therefore, the viewer is more likely to follow this direction of the poster, from left to right, starting with the sun.

I have also changed the way the mountains are portrayed in the poster from changing the way the look. In these new styles we can see that the mountains now look more three dimensional with a sense of solidness from them. They also look more rigid too. To create this effect, the mountains are actually broken down into 5 triangles that are placed together to form the mountains. Each triangle holds a tones of grey to emphasise the look of a three dimensional space. Although I am happy with the outcome, I do feel like the snow on the peaks of the mountains do need improving because they feel like they do not fit in with the form of the mountains. In the space of the mountains and snow, I have also created an igloo to use the free space which was available on the land of the snow. Again, this was done to make the poster seem more appealing to the viewer with it’s fun like status.

On the land of the lake and the boat, I then began to add some sort of forest to it. This was done because the sun is able to evaporate water off the leaves of plants and trees. To emphasise this method, I have also included a zoom-in magnifying element to visually show a leaf’s water particles being evaporated by the sun’s heat. On the land of the boat and lake, I have also added a river that joins with the ocean, this was done because my tutor suggested that these elements are incorporated with each other. On the land of the lake I also added a visual element of a rainbow so the viewer is able to understand that this can occur when there is sunlight coming into contact with water droplets falling from the clouds in the sky.

7JPEG

Version 6

In this final version as seen below, we can see that there has been some minor visual adjustments that have been changed. To begin, I was given some feedback from my tutor on the sun. He felt like it was a good effect using the lens flair but the sun itself was too close to feeling photo realistic. He suggested that I should add some light rays coming from the centre of the sun, this in turn will bring it back and make it become more relevant to my style of theme. As we can see in this poster, this has been done.

My tutor also suggested that a river should be incorporated into the ice land so the viewer is able to identify that water cycle can happen in all types of land. So from feedback, I did this and as we can see the river joins onto the ocean from the other side of the mountain. A small water pit was also added to the land of the ice near to the igloo, this was again to use the space on the land more effectively and we all know that where there is an igloo, not far will be a small water pit where man can fish for his food.

Other elements such as the colour tone on the ocean have also been altered with a more darker blue on the bottom of the earth, this was done to make it seem more three dimensional because where there is little light, there will be darkness.

The information displayed at the bottom of the page was also adjusted with more text on the last pie chart and little things like the arrows going onto the next one was changed with a dotted line. Again this was done because my tutor felt slightly confused after reading the data so he suggested I do that.

Overall, I am very happy with my final product of the water cycle and how it works.

8JPEG

